Maintenance week – Jan. 30 – Feb. 5

WEEK SUMMARY

I felt like I was able to get back on the wagon a bit this week.  Not that I really fell off, but my mpw has certainly taken a dip for the last several weeks.  This week wasn’t anything spectacular–three runs for 13.03 miles, but I felt good about them.  Especially the run on Wednesday morning.  I had planned to meet the November Project group at 5:30 am at the Lincoln Memorial.  I was up and ready to go, however, my cheapness made me a little late when I opted to take an Uber pool instead of a regular Uber in order to save a few dollars.  I pooled with three other people, and I figured that they were also heading to NP at the Lincoln, but I realized that they were actually heading to work at that hour.

So, I was about 10 minutes late to the start of NP, and so I decided to just go for a run by myself.  I decided to run from the Lincoln over to the MLK, down to the Jefferson and back to the Lincoln via the FDR Memorial.  Let me tell you, there’s something magical and transcending about running around the monuments at 5:45am when you are completely alone.  It’s as if the monuments and the invocations that they represent speak directly to you.  It’s such a great experience–you start thinking about issues big and small, macro and micro, worldly and individual.  I will say, though, running through the FDR memorial in the dark, completely alone, is a pretty eerie experience.  Especially the one part of the memorial with statues that depict a breadline during the Great Depression.  It’s not just that I was running through there alone, it was more that the symbols of the memorial seemed to come to life in a very haunting way.  Maybe that’s the point.  Regardless,  I am certainly going to incorporate more early morning workouts here, and I can’t wait to take Mini with me in a few weeks.

So, three runs this week.  13.01 miles.

Workout summary:

TWIR (This Week in Running)

Jess and I are continuing our final stretch of getting ready for Mini’s arrival.  We have less than six weeks left.  Just typing that out makes it feel very real, and I am just getting more and more excited with each passing week.  This week, we spent some time staining the door and painting the trim that Jess’s dad installed for us and hung up a mobile that her mom made. Also, we made some of our final purchases for the baby–a car seat and car seat adapter for the baby stroller that we purchased a few weeks ago.

On Wednesday, I went with some friends to a local Hindu temple to participate in a feeding ceremony for their child.  In Hindu tradition, there is a ceremony that is done for a baby’s first solid food feeding at six months of age.  I felt honored to be able to join for that celebration.

Jess and I have been flying through a new show that we’re watching–Man in the High Castle.  That show is just awesome.  It’s an alternate history series that depicts a world where the Axis defeated the Allies in World War II, and the United States is partitioned into an eastern half occupied by Nazi Germany and a western half occupied by Imperial Japan.  There’s something captivating about the show–almost as if the alternate history gives us an interesting perspective to introspect on ourselves.

Otherwise, today Superbowl Sunday, and we’re doing the usual with some friends.

Leave a comment